naked in cold space (one)

Page One

The collection Naked in Cold Space, written in summer 2008. These poems have never been re-worked, but rather I’ve chosen to leave them exactly as I first wrote them in a small notebook, in various cafes and restaurants, in the first several months after my life as I knew it was destroyed.

Number One

What were my wrappings
when I had them —
star-threads, moonrays, and such things,
and you.
Beautiful robes my ugly soul wore,
made of gentle-seeing eyes,
of trust and patience,
and that ineffable gold;
the knowledge that you are
the axis of love.
                         
So I was wrapped,
so I was blessed,
and I was moved to go on.  
                                                                                                      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                                                                                      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                                                                                      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Number Two                        

                       You’re gone.
                       My ugly soul is
                       naked                                                           
                       like my name.

 

                      You’re gone.
                      But we live in a rageless age,
                      and if I rage for us,
                      I will be ignored.
                      We live in a passionless time,
                      so that if I moan in the night
                      for you,
                      I will be prescribed.
                     All the clothes of love are gone,
                     and I live in a freezing
                     starless space.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~    
~~~~  website  ~~~~~~~~~  Share ~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~   gone beside me  ~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~      
all photos, poems, graphics and text copyright 2011 by anne nakis, unless otherwise stated. all rights reserved.   
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
a href=”http://twitter.com/share” data-count=”none” data-via=”annegrace2″ data-related=”ziidjian:outre tweeting”>Tweet</a><script type=”text/javascript” src=”
http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”></script~~~~~~~~~~~            

                       
About mishibone, braon, braonthree, sehnen

see website outline at braonthree.wordpress.com. alternate twitter account: @annegrace2. on Reddit as aennchen, with a subreddit of aennchen.
This entry was posted in photos, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

